top of page

Code for long life and wisdom

My current position at Save the Children has provided me with the amazing opportunity to work with indigenous peoples. Over the past 2 years my learning of the views and ways of working has been furthered developed but most of all my spiritual growth has been nurtured.

I am always honoured when I am invited to be part of indigenous ceremonies or invited to be with the indigenous peoples and communities. It is an amazing opportunity to exchange knowledge and re connect with nature, all living things and their spirits.

I want to take this opportunity to share with you some of the amazing knowledge and wisdom that can be learned from these amazing people.

the Code for Long Life and Wisdom as stated by Basil Johnston:

"Honour the aged; in honouring them, you honor life and wisdom.

Honour life in all its forms; your own will be sustained.

Honour women; in honouring women, you honour the gift of life and love.

Honour promises; by keeping your word, you will be true.

Honour kindness; by sharing the gifts you will be kind.

Be peaceful; through peace, all will find the Great Peace.

Be courageous; through courage, all will grow in strength.

Be moderate in all things; watch, listen and consider; your deeds will be prudent."

bottom of page